TemporaryCollectives
 

Temporary Collectives


A collaborative graduate Project combining students and faculty from TCU, UTA, SMU, UNT, UTD and Texas A&M - Commerce


Spring 2017

Faculty


Matthew Bourbon, Associate Professor of Art, University of North Texas

Josephine Durkin, Associate Professor of Art, Texas A&M - Commerce

Stephen Lapthisophon, Adjunct Professor, UTD, Senior Lecturer, UTA

Darryl Lauster:  Associate Professor of Art, University of Texas Arlington

Kenda North, Professor of Art, University of Texas at Arlington

John Pomara, Professor of Visual Arts, University of Texas Dallas

Cam Schoepp, Associate Professor, Texas Christian University

Noah Simblist, Chair, Southern Methodist University


Meeting Dates (all times 2 pm except where indicated):


3 February, slide jam, CentralTrak, 800 Exposition Ave

10 February, exhibition space site visit


5 April, exhibition reception



Participating students, after presenting their work in a three-minute slide jam session (2/3), will be organized into collectives by the participating faculty.  Subsequently, each collective will assume an identity that carries forward into a public group exhibition to open on April 20.  Each collective will meet and organize independently, navigating relevant topics such as formal or conceptual issues that may define them collectively, or desired issues or themes they may wish to address artistically.  These issues will then be shared with and approved by faculty mentor before execution.  After the student exhibition opens concurrent to the Dallas Art Fair, the faculty will organize a panel discussion that includes scholars from neighboring museums to address topics that become relevant through the class.



The Collectives



                              Group #1                                                                                             Group #2                       

           Faculty mentor:  Josephine Durkin                                                      Faculty mentor:  John Pomara             

                                                                                                                   

Francesca Brunitti, francescabrunetti@hotmail.it                                    Mo Moss, artofmoss@gmail.com

      Gage Peer, gpeer@mail.smu.edu                                            Christine Adame, Christine.adame@mavs.uta.edu

      Jieun Lim,  JieunLim@my.unt.edu                                                 Luke Cisneros, luke.cisneros@mavs.uta.edu

       Bella Jones,  i.jones@tcu.edu                                                         Alison Jardine, alison@alisonjardine.com

     Juan Negroni, jnegroni@mail.smu.edu                                                 Kiren Sattar,  K.SATTAR@tcu.edu

                                                                                                            Clayton Harper, rch150330@utdallas.edu

                                                                                                                      

         

                            Group #3                                                                                              Group #4

            Faculty mentor:  Kenda North                                                     Faculty mentor:  Stephen Lapthisophon


Billi London-Gray, billi.london-gray@mavs.uta.edu            Sara Rastegarpouyani,  sara.rastegarpouyani@mavs.uta.edu

    Daniel Martinez, drmartinez@mail.smu.edu                                             Erika Duque, e.duque@tcu.edu

     Sarah Larson, sarahlarson78@gmail.com                                   Johanna Pettyjohn   hannapettyjohn@gmail.com

     Parisa Nozari, parisanozari@yahoo.com                                       Amanda Marder,  marder.metals@gmail.com

     Audrey Travis,  audrey.g.travis@tcu.edu                                        Maureen Munley, mmunley@mail.smu.edu

                                                                                                            Jane Cornish Smith, jcsart@sbcglobal.net  



                       

                             Group #5                                                                                               Group #6

            Faculty mentor:  Cam Schoepp                                                         Faculty mentor:  Matthew Bourbon


        Hayley Fower,  hayley.fowler@tcu.edu                                          Jim Wilson,  jimwilsonarchitects@gmail.com

     Jeremy Chavez,  jeremyac82@gmail.com                                             Kacie Baker,  KACIE.BAKER@tcu.edu

Marcela Reyes/Holly Gray, marcela.reyes@mavs.uta.edu;             Emily Broussard, ebroussard@leomail.tamuc.edu         

                                            holly.gray@mavs.uta.edu                                 Tyler Lynch, tylerl@mail.smu.edu

Katerina Verguelis, katerina.verguelis@mavs.uta.edu                               Jessie Budd,  jcp101020@utdallas.edu

         Shelby Meier, sdmeier@mail.smu.edu                             Daniel Reyes/Kris O’Brien,  daniel.reyes3@mavs.uta.edu

                                                                                                                                               kobrien@uta.edu




Group #7

Faculty mentor:  Noah Simblist


Bruce Breaux, bbreaux18@yahoo.com 

Marwa Benhalim, mbenhalim@mail.smu.edu

Cor Fahringer/Josh Dryk   cor.fahringer@mavs.uta.edu; Joshua.dryk@mavs.uta.edu

David Namaksy,  namaksy@sbcglobal.net  

Joanne Cervantes,  joannecervantes.art@gmail.com

Daniel Gray, d.gray@tcu.edu






   




History


Now in its third year, this inter-collegiate project would not be possible without the vision and generosity of Butch McGregor and Trinity Groves LLC, who provide the exhibition space for our students.  It all began humbly with a conversation between Butch and Stephen Lapthisophon about how to invigorate the creative class in West Dallas. Soon Darryl Lauster and John Pomara were brought into the discussion, and these four together founded the first joint exhibition of graduate students in the DFW area.  Over the years, the Consortium project has proudly exhibited the work of 90 graduate students from 6 different universities.  In 2015 the Nasher Sculpture Center came on board, providing support and outreach to their Avante Garde Society.  The Dallas Art Fair generously supports free admission for all students to the art fair and has hosted our project’s panel discussion as part of their event schedule.  Thousands of viewers have toured these exhibits.  Its success is twofold, many viewers receive an enriching experience they might not otherwise have had access to, and our students develop networks with the public that are not reproducible in a typical classroom setting.  The project continues to build access between our students and their community, and between the art programs of the North Texas area.