UTA Logo

Check E-Mail | Find People | Contact Us | Search


visitors | prospective students | current students | alumni website | employers                                        

About the Department




Class Schedules

Faculty & Staff


Intermediate I Entrance Exam



Student Groups

Useful Links

Professional Certification

Career Services

Job Postings


UT Arlington > College of Business > Accounting > Scholarships

Bill Ross Accounting Alumni Scholarship

The Bill Ross Accounting Alumni Endowed Scholarship was established to recognize Dr. Bill Ross for the significant contributions he made to the University of Texas at Arlington while serving on the accounting faculty. Funding was provided by accounting alumni, business firms, U. T. Arlington accounting faculty, and friends of Bill Ross.
About Dr. Bill Ross
From 1974 to 1996 Dr. Ross served the Accounting Department and the University of Texas at Arlington including ten years as Chair of Accounting and ten years as the UTA Faculty Athletic Representative (1986-1996). In his capacity as Chair of Accounting, Dr. Ross was instrumental in the formation of the Accounting Alumni Association and in raising some $230,000 in endowments as evidenced by the Public Accounting Professorship and the Accounting Alumni Professorship. It was largely as a result of Dr. Ross�s business and personal relationship with E&W Managing Partner Ray Wilkin that UTA received the 1.1 million dollar James and Eunice West Chair in Free Enterprise and Entrepreneurship.  Under Dr. Ross�s leadership UTA became one of the first universities in the United States to have three accounting programs accredited by the American Assembly of Collegiate Schools of Business.

In recognition of his commitment to the University of Texas at Arlington, and his exemplary dedication to scholarship, citizenship, and professionalism, the title of Professor Emeritus was conferred upon him by The University of Texas at Arlington in 2001.
To be eligible for the Bill Ross Accounting Alumni Scholarship, a student must meet the following criteria:
  • Be a declared accounting major currently enrolled or intending to enroll in a minimum of nine semester hours at UTA;
  • Have completed a minimum of fifteen (15) semester hours of accounting courses at UTA, or have a baccalaureate degree from an accredited college or university;
  • Have achieved a minimum overall GPA of 3.2 and a minimum GPA of 3.5 in accounting courses completed at an accredited college university and be pursuing (or intending to pursue) a baccalaureate or master's degree in accounting at UTA; and
  • Be a citizen or permanent resident of the United States.
The following students have been awarded this scholarship.
2006: Andrew McCaghren
2005: Marvin Sutton
2004: Linda Johnson, Kimberly Stewart
2003: Christopher Featherstone
2002: Christie Forward
2001: Jocelyn Larkin
2000: Carley Strickland
1999: Kimberly Shaw
1998: -
1997: Randy Wagner



E-Mail SuggestionsAbout this site
(c) 2001 Department of Accounting, College of Business, The University of Texas at Arlington