UTA Logo

Check E-Mail | Find People | Contact Us | Search


visitors | prospective students | current students | alumni website | employers                                        

About the Department




Class Schedules

Faculty & Staff


Intermediate I Entrance Exam



Student Groups

Useful Links

Professional Certification

Career Services

Job Postings


UT Arlington > College of Business > Accounting > Scholarships

Barney C. Barnes Scholarship

The Barney C. Barnes Memorial Scholarship was established to award a scholarship annually to an outstanding student majoring in accounting at The University of Texas at Arlington. Funding was provided through gifts in memory of Mr. Barnes by fellow civic leaders and friends in the City of Arlington, Texas, and by colleagues and associates at UTA. Additional funding was provided by Mrs. Barney C. (Frances) Barnes to pay tribute to the honor of her late husband.
About Barney C. Barnes
Barney C. Barnes was instrumental in the development of The University of Texas at Arlington, having served the university in several capacities (including Registrar, accounting faculty member, Head of the Business Department and Vice President for Fiscal Affairs) for some 40 years beginning in 1929. Barney C. Barnes was also a business and community leader in the City of Arlington, serving two terms as Mayor from 1947 to 1951.
To be eligible for the Barney C. Barnes Scholarship, a student must meet the following criteria:
  • Be a declared accounting major currently enrolled in a minimum of nine semester hours at The University of Texas at Arlington;
  • Have completed a minimum of fifteen (15) semester hours of accounting courses at The University of Texas at Arlington;
  • Have achieved a minimum GPA of 3.0 overall in courses completed at UTA, and a minimum GPA of 3.0 in accounting courses completed at UTA, and be judged capable of completing a baccalaureate degree in accounting at UTA; and
  • Be a citizen or permanent resident of the United States.
The following students have been awarded this scholarship.
2006: Eleonora Clemens, Daniel Montgomery, Derek Lemke
2005: Heather Banks, Kimberly Harris, Andrew McCaghren
2004: Katrina Hamilton
2003: Keithen Akanni, Eleonora Goethe
2002: Tammy Coffman, Daniel Hornback, Jennifer Reynolds
2001: Marie Bosillo
2000: Casandra Smart
1999: No scholarship awarded
1998: Wayne Lundquist
1997: Susan Hicks



E-Mail SuggestionsAbout this site
(c) 2001 Department of Accounting, College of Business, The University of Texas at Arlington