Accounting Banner

Clyde E. Womack Endowed Scholarship

  • Purpose
  • The Clyde E. Womack Endowed Scholarship was established to recognize Clyde E. Womack for his dedicated service to KPMG LLP, the University of Texas at Arlington, the accounting profession, and the business community. Funding was provided by KPMG LLP, Tarrant Partners LLP, the University of Texas at Arlington, employees of KPMG LLP, U. T. Arlington accounting faculty, and friends of Clyde E. Womack.
  • About Clyde E. Womack
  • Clyde Womack joined the audit staff of KPMG LLP (formerly Peat, Marwick, Mitchell & Co.) in Fort Worth in February 1966, after graduating from the University of Texas at Arlington in January 1966 with a BBA in accounting. Shortly thereafter he became a Certified Public Accountant. He was promoted to partner in 1975. During his career at KPMG LLP he served public companies in the entire Southwest for KPMG LLP, primarily focusing on the Financial Services area. Clyde served as an SEC Reviewing Partner and an Employee Benefit Plan Partner, and he also served clients in the capacity of an Engagement Partner. From 1997 through 2001 he was the Managing Partner of the Fort Worth office of KPMG LLP.
  • Clyde was a charter member of the U.T. Arlington Accounting Alumni Association and was a member of the U.T. Arlington College of Business Advisory Council. He also served as President of the North Texas Chapter of the Arthritis Foundation, Treasurer of the Board of Trustees of Trinity Valley School in Fort Worth, and the Board of Downtown Fort Worth, Inc.
  • Criteria
  • To be eligible for the Clyde E. Womack Endowed Scholarship, a student must meet the following criteria:
    1. Be a declared accounting major currently enrolled (or intending to enroll) in an accounting degree program at UTA;
    2. Have completed a minimum of 12 semester hours of accounting courses (9 semester hours for graduate students) or have a baccalaureate degree from an accredited college or university;
    3. Have achieved a minimum overall GPA of 3.25 and a minimum GPA of 3.25 in accounting courses completed at an accredited college or university;
    4. Be a citizen or permanent resident of the United States; and
    5. Have at least 9 semester hours of study remaining to complete an accounting degree at the University of Texas at Arlington.
  • Recipients
  • 2018: Suraj Mehta; Jordan Marr
  • 2017: Julio Colon-Gonzalez; Suraj Mehta
  • 2016: Katherine Obennoskey; Aaron Kauffman
  • 2015: William R. Gough; Vu D. Le; Marney Yu
  • 2014: Christopher Adams; Lindsye Cooper; Amanda McMahon; Rachel Shaffer
  • 2013: Michelle Miller; Ling F. Li; Yuping Liu; Jeremy D. Smeltz
  • 2012: Vi Dinh; Mary Huning; Paul Isham; Rachel Jones; Yuping Liu; Elyse Morris
  • 2011: Kathryn Hayden, Amber Nguyen, Lorena Ramirez Nieto, Joanna Salazar
  • 2010: Bonnie Freeman, Noureen Kasmani, Joshua Audi, Jordan Rovney
  • 2009: Christopher Vick, Tiffany Coker
  • 2008: Michelle Johnson, Austin Roberts
  • 2007: YuanWei Hsu, Philip Fasoro, Maria Ruiz, Michael Walkup, Molly Smithee
  • 2006: Richard Love Jr., Lin Wu, Yunfeng Hall
  • 2005: Brandon Brinkley, Brian Hostetler
  • 2004: Terra Brown, Marvin Sutton
  • 2003: David Pluss