Accounting Banner

Donny Oltean Memorial Scholarship

  • Purpose
  • The Donny Oltean Memorial Scholarship was established to honor the memory of Donny Oltean. Funding was provided by Donny's family and friends; and U. T. Arlington faculty, staff, students, and alumni.
  • About Donny Oltean
  • Donald (Donny) Joseph Oltean was born on October 27, 1982 in Wichita, Kansas. He graduated from Clear Lake High School in Houston, Texas in 2001 where he was very active in sports. Donny started his college career in Houston. While attending college he also started and ran a successful internet-based custom auto body component business. Donny transferred to The University of Texas at Arlington as a business student in Fall, 2003. He soon realized the importance of an accounting degree and the foundation it provides for small business owners. He became very active in the Accounting Society and was selected as "Outstanding Committee Chair" for his leadership, initiative, and enthusiasm. Donny also served as secretary of the Accounting Society for the Spring, 2004 semester. While visiting Houston, Texas to attend a family reunion on August 16, 2004 Donny was injured in an automobile crash. On August 17, 2004, at age 21, he passed away.
  • Criteria
  • To be eligible for the Donny Oltean Memorial Scholarship, a student must meet the following criteria:
    1. Be a declared accounting major currently enrolled (or intending to enroll) in an accounting degree program at UTA;
    2. Have achieved a minimum overall GPA of 3.00 in courses completed at an accredited college or university;
    3. Be a citizen or permanent resident of the United States; and
    4. Have at least 9 semester hours of study remaining to complete an accounting degree at the University of Texas at Arlington.
  • Recipients
  • 2018: Loc Tran
  • 2017: Frank Cortez
  • 2016: Aaron Kauffman
  • 2015: Tin-long Chan; Hieu Tran
  • 2014: Kristen Scott
  • 2013: Kimmie Tran
  • 2012: Daniela Dimayuga; Brittany Nguyen
  • 2011: David Hall; Cynthia Seliga
  • 2007: Matthew Perry
  • 2006: Stephanie Chandler
  • 2005: Rachel Plantz