Accounting Banner

Michael R. Baylor Graduate Fellowship in Accounting


The Michael R. Baylor Graduate Fellowship in Accounting shall be a permanent endowment and shall be used for the benefit of the Accounting Department in the College of Business. Funds distributed from the endowment shall be used to provide graduate fellowships to students pursuing a graduate degree in Accounting.

About Michael R. Baylor

Michael R. Baylor is a UT Arlington alumnus who received his BBA - Accounting degree in 1970. Mr. Baylor is the recipient of the Department of Accounting Distinguished Alumni Award in 2004 and the UTA Distinguished Alumni Award (UTAs highest honor) in 2007. Mike is also the past president of the UTA Alumni Board. Mike has been long-time supporter of the Department.  He is a regular speaker at student events, a member of the Department's Advisory Board, and a generous financial supporter of the program. 

 Michael is a former tax partner with PwC in Fort Worth.  While at UTA, not only was he a great accounting student -- but he also managed to set numerous football records as a star quarterback. He is the 1987 Athletics Hall of Honor inductee. Several of his football records are still unbroken since UTA withdrew from football following the 1985 season. His records can still be seen on the Wall of Honor at the College Park Center.


(1)    Be in the last semester of the undergraduate accounting degree and accepted into the Masters program in Accounting or Tax

(2)    Have completed a minimum of 12 semester hours of accounting courses;

(3)    Have achieved a minimum overall GPA of 3.25 and a minimum GPA of 3.25 in accounting courses completed at UTA;

(4)    The scholarship is renewable for a second year if student maintains a minimum GPA of 3.25 in the graduate program, if funds are available.


2018: Mark Adams; Tuan Nguyen; Edwin Mwangi; Daniel Vest

2017: Shivam Arora; Hope Clark; William Covalt; Marisa Datko; Anum Zafarullah

2016: Sihame Hamdane; Guowen Jiang; Huong Thi Nguyen; Ji Wang

2015:  Arsala Barakzai; Andres Godinez; Filipe Simoes Martins Vidal; Rachel M. Schaffer; Ngoc Thi My Truong; Suye Wang

2014:  Ekaterina Fitzon; Kyle Horton; Lionel Mungwari; Nikita Nathu; Li Rose; Jihyun Sim

2013:  Eduardo Hernandez; Li T. Rose