Limitation on Dropped Courses
Students who have enrolled in a Texas public institution of higher education as a first-time freshman in fall 2007 or later are permitted to drop no more than six courses during their entire undergraduate career. This limit includes all transfer work taken at a Texas institution of higher education and to second baccalaureate degrees. This statute was enacted by the State of Texas in spring 2007 (Texas Education Code 51.907). Any course that a student drops after Census Day is counted toward the six-course limit if "(1) the student was able to drop the course without receiving a grade or incurring an academic penalty; (2) the student’s transcript indicates or will indicate that the student was enrolled in the course; and (3) the student is not dropping the course in order to withdraw from the institution."
The limit on dropped courses is subject to the following conditions:
- Students dropping a course for academic reasons will receive a “W.” Students withdrawing from the university or who received an approved non-academic exception will receive a course notation of Q on the transcript. Courses denoted with Q do not count toward the 6-course drop limit.
- Dropped developmental courses do not count toward the limit.
- Dropped dual credit courses earned prior to a student graduating from high school do not count toward the limit.
- If a student withdraws from all courses during the semester, the withdrawals will not count toward the student’s 6-drop limit. During the course of the same semester, if some courses are dropped prior to final full withdrawal, all courses will be converted to ‘withdrawn’ status, regardless of the timing. (Example: Student A is enrolled in four courses and drops two and completes two. The two courses will be counted against the 6-drop limit. Student B is enrolled in four courses and drops two courses following Census Date. These two drops are counted against the 6-drop limit. Prior to the last drop date, Student B withdraws from school (drops final two courses). The final two courses are coded as “withdrawn” and do not count against the 6-drop limit. The two courses previously counted as “dropped” are reclassified as “withdrawn” and the student’s drop limit is readjusted).
- This drop policy overrides the limit of 15 hours W previously in place at UT Arlington (http://www.uta.edu/catalog/2006/fall/index.html, 2006 Undergraduate Catalog, see Schedule Changes, Item C). Students who entered UT Arlington between Fall 2006 and Summer 2007 and were subject to the 15-hour W policy will no longer be held to the limits of that institutional policy.
- Students should be aware that dropping a course or courses may result in reducing them to part-time status which can affect financial aid, scholarships, and insurance coverage.
Back to top
Exceptions to the 6-course drop limit may be granted based on the following:
- A severe illness or other debilitating condition that affects the student’s ability to satisfactorily complete the course. Supporting documentation must be provided.
- The student’s responsibility to provide the care of a sick, injured, or needy person such that providing the care affects the student’s ability to satisfactorily complete the course. Supporting documentation must be provided.
- The death of a person considered to be a member of the student’s family or someone who is otherwise considered to have a sufficiently close relationship to the student. Supporting documentation must be provided.
- The student’s active duty service as a member of the military or of a person considered to be a member of the student’s family or someone who is otherwise considered to a have a sufficiently close relationship to the student. Supporting documentation must be provided.
- A change of the student’s work schedule that is beyond the control of the student and that affects the student’s ability to satisfactorily complete the course. Supporting documentation must be provided.
- Other good causes as determined by the Office of the Vice Provost for Academic Analytics and Operations.
Students may petition to drop more than the 6-course limit, or to drop a course and not have the drop count against the 6-course limit. These petitions will be reviewed by the Vice Provost for Academic Analytics and Operations. The following circumstances will not be considered valid reasons for requesting an exception to the 6-course drop limit policy:
- An attempt to avoid scholastic probation.
- Failing a course.
- Possibility of receiving a grade that will lower the grade point average.
To request an exception, this form must be submitted with supporting documentation.
Students petitioning to drop a class for non-academic reasons should continue to attend and perform in the class until the petition request is resolved.
Back to top
Impact on Transfer Students
Students will be notified of their status of withdrawals at the time of transfer evaluation.
The Office of Admissions, Records and Registration will monitor all transfer credit from other Texas public institutions of higher education to determine (count) any withdrawals affecting students impacted by this legislation.
The Office of Records and Registration will exclude any transcribed course withdrawals from independent/private Texas institutions or from out-of-state colleges and universities from counting against the student’s 6-drop limit.
A UT Arlington student affected by this statute that has attended or plans to attend another institution of higher education should become familiar with that institution’s policies on dropping courses. This statute applies across Texas public institutions, and procedures for implementation may vary between institutions. Students who enroll in course work at more than one institution of higher education have an obligation to keep track of the number of dropped courses across all institutions and insure that they do not exceed the six dropped course limit.
Back to top
Requirement to Update Academic Records
UT Arlington students who also enroll at other institutions of higher education have an obligation to ensure that UT Arlington has a complete and accurate academic record. Students who enroll in coursework at other institutions must transfer a record of that course work to UT Arlington’s Office of Admissions, Records and Registration at the conclusion of each semester.
Back to top
To request an exception, the Undergraduate Petition for Exemption to 6-Course Limit Drop Policy form must be completed and submitted to the Office of Admissions, Records and Registration, attn: Records Processing, UTA Box 19088, Arlington, TX 76019; or hand delivered to Room 129 Davis Hall.
Supporting documentation must be included with the form before the appeal will be processed. Do not submit originals. Petitions and supporting documents will be destroyed following the adjudication of the petition. Supporting documents should be copies of official documents (e.g., be on letterhead, contain contact information, etc.). All supporting documentation is subject to verification.
Students who request an exception should not assume the petition will be approved. It is the student’s responsibility to continue to attend class, complete assignments, and take any tests until and unless the student is informed that his or her petition has been approved.
A decision related to the petition will be communicated to the student via the student’s UTA email address. This decision is final.
Back to top